Acceptance-The Final Stage of Grief



“The reality is that you will grieve forever. You will not “get over” the loss of a loved one; you will learn to live with it. You will heal and you will rebuild yourself around the loss you have suffered. You will be whole again but, you will never be the same. Nor should you be the same, nor would you want to.”

Elizabeth Kubler-Ross and John Kessler


Grief is a loss of someone or something that was meaningful to our life.

No matter how clever you may think you are, there is no way around the five stages of grief. Each individual will experience the stages in their own unique way.

 The five stages of grief are denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance.

Each stage contains a plethora of emotions.  

When these emotions are too powerful, or we distract ourselves as a form of avoidance, the energy of these emotions can become trapped in our bodies.

Trapped emotions will act as triggers. Instead of the healthy action of pausing and responding to a painful trigger, the old emotions will build upon the new trigger which can lead to a negatively charged reaction.

I have found The Body Code to be extremely helpful in supporting a person through the grieving process.

My personal journey with tremendous loss began two years ago.

My world as I knew it was stripped away.

1/2016 I lost my beloved dog Macarena. She almost made it to her 15th birthday. She came into my life during another loss.

 A miscarriage that would later be discovered that I was unable to have children.

She was my light through the darkness of the loss of my mother and my divorce. She will forever be in my heart.

5/2016 my relationship of three years came to an abrupt ending.

8/2016 I lost my beloved dog Tango. He was only 10 years old but had heart problems. I believe he died of a broken heart due to Macarena’s departure.

8/2016 I sold my house and moved back to beautiful Sedona!

10/2016 I left my spa job of four years due to upper body issues that I am still healing from.

This has been my story for the last two years.

Body Code and Emotion Code has allowed me to properly grieve and heal these emotional wounds without becoming bitter and jaded.

Every stage of grief has been experienced with the same amount of pain but I feel myself working through the pain and not around it.

The signs of Acceptance have finally appeared! I find myself opening my heart up to new possibilities! I no longer wish to tell that old story.

Turning sadness into service by volunteering at the Humane Society of Sedona has been my way of coping with the loss of my dogs and yet I receive so much in return in the currency of snuggles and kisses!

My focus after leaving my spa job has been on expanding my Body Code practice. I am very good at facilitating healing for others.

This is such gratifying work! The one thing I realized is that I don’t have to have a perfect life in order to do what I do!

I’m just a channel from a divine source! That divine source is available to me as well! Sometimes I forget these things and find myself “driving through life with the parking brake on” as my physical therapist once said to me.

Don’t be afraid to grieve properly.

 Don’t be afraid to ask for help.

 Don’t be afraid to nurture and love yourself during this time.

I wish I had a magic wand to make the pain and suffering vanish in an instant but at least I have a modality that can soften the edges.

We are all perfectly imperfect. Flawsome! Embrace the wave…you are not alone…

Robin Ixchel